top of page

Vintage Millinery Resources Online

A word of warning - I can't be held responsible for what happens after you click on the link at the bottom of this post. If you fall down the rabbit hole, and several hours pass before you re-emerge into the real world, I hope you find it as fun and rewarding as I did!

The Trove website is a wonderful resource for things other than millinery. Though based at the National Library of Australia, it does link to many sites from around the world, and I find the search format very easy to use.

In the past I've found lots of interesting articles too. News in Australia has always tended to report on things in Europe and the US, so there are lots of things that aren't specifically of local interest.

In 2014 I found a wealth of information regarding the 1938 Coronation of King George VI. It was big news in Australia, so they sent lots of reporters to cover the story, much like the recent Royal Wedding in 2011. My specific search topic (for my dissertation) then was Madame Handley-Seymour, the court dressmaker who made the coronation robes for Queen Elizabeth (the Queen Mother). I wasn't finding much information here in the UK, but Trove turned up all sorts of obscure articles, and images too. My dissertation received an excellent grade, and specific comments were made about the originality of my research - I owe it all to Trove!

What's fantastic is that so much is available online, and its free! If you love reading old newspapers anyway, its a wonderful procrastination device.

In the meantime, enjoy this link to the millinery books. I particularly recommend first dipping into the titles by Jane Loewen and Charlotte Rankin Aiken. Several of the books have been doing the rounds of the internet already, and they do repeat information, so apologies if you've seen them already! But for those who haven't had the pleasure, away you go!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page